Wednesday, September 19, 2007

I hate cell phones and smart phones are stupid

I waited an researched and hemmed and hawed before plunking down 500 bucks for a smart phone. This is something rare for me being the impulse person I am. Although, have to mention that my impulsiveness has gotten much better now that I have to pay for most things myself :( In any event, I decided on the new at the time of purchase Palm Treo. I overhead another student in my speech class raving about it (you would have thought she worked for Palm the was she was talking!). So that was just the push in Palm's direction that I needed because for a few weeks it was Blackbery Pearl in the lead, then Palm Treo, then Blackberry and finally I said Fuck it and bought the treo. I hate it - I hate it so much that I am completely turned off to all cell phones. Oh, I was going to beam documents at the touch of a button and save the day in court. I even envisioned organizing and presenting our next PowerPoint presentation in Court all from my handy "smartphone". I would look so smart in a technical new age sort of way. Ok two problems - 1) no trial with none in sight and 2) I wouldn't spend enough time with my PDA to download a new contact, let alone a PPT presentation. If I had any doubts that my feelings for my phone and phone companies was pure contempt it was all reaffirmed yesterday when I spent a good part of my lunch hour - losing $$$ BTW- waiting in line to be told I have to send my falling apart and mangled for no apparent reason phone to the insurance company if I would like a new one. Oh yeah and there is a $50.00 deductible which I have never heard of before. I won't even comment. Last gripe - I decide the least i could do to try to get along with my phone is to but nice headphones so I can actually use one feature of my phone - p-Tunes. Apparently if u don't buy palm headphones you can only hear sound from one side and you can't us ethe hands free talk trhough the headset. So teh price is $29,99 - Ok I will go for it - the girl rings me up and says that is 37.89 with tax please. Verizon is special and charges special taxes, hence the almost 10.00 extra dollars. I declined and left the store. That explains why Verizon can afford to have 4 billion people following each customer around to ensure quality reception. You've seen the commercials right? I repeast, reiterate and reaffirm - I hate cell phones and smart phones are stupid.

No comments: